A Concise History of Western Music
-27 %

A Concise History of Western Music

 HC gerader Rücken kaschiert
Sofort lieferbar| Lieferzeit:3-5 Tage I

Unser bisheriger Preis:ORGPRICE: 74,95 €

Jetzt 55,03 €*

Alle Preise inkl. MwSt. | ggf. zzgl. Versand
HC gerader Rücken kaschiert
Paul Griffiths
655 g
224x146x32 mm
A brief history of western classical music which will appeal to all music lovers.
Prehistory; Part I. Time Whole: 1. From Babylonians to Franks; Part II. Time Measured 1100-1400: 2. Troubadours and organists; 3. Ars nove and Narcissus's clock; Part III. Time Sensed 1400-1630: 4. Harmony, the light of time; 5. The radiance of the High Renaissance; 6. Reformation and heartache; 7. To speak in music; Part IV. Time Known 1630-1770: 8. Baroque mornings; 9. Fugue, concerto and operatic passion; 10. Rococo and reform; Part V. Time Embraced 1770-1815: 11. Sonata as comedy; 12. Revolution's momentum; Part VI. Time Escaping 1815-1907: 13. The deaf man and the singer; 14. Angels and other prodigies; 15. New Germans and old Vienna; 16. Romantic evenings; 17. Nightfall and sunrise; Part VII. Time Tangled 1908-75: 18. To begin again; 19. Forwards and backwards, and sideways; 20. The people's needs; 21. To begin again again; 22. Whirlwind; Part VIII. Time Lost 1975-: 23. Echoes in the labyrinth; 24. Interlude; Glossary; Further reading and listening.
Engaging, clear and informative, this book traces the history of western classical music. Paul Griffiths shows how music has changed through the centuries, and suggests how that change mirrors development in the human notion of time, from the eternity of heaven to the computer's microsecond. A glossary provides the reader with clear definitions of technical terms, and a list of recommended books and recordings is included. An essential read for students, teachers and classical music lovers alike.